All That Is Arkansas

Acquired as part of the Louisiana Purchase, Arkansas became a separate territory in 1819 and achieved statehood in 1836. A slave state, Arkansas became the ninth state to secede from the Union. That might explain why, from 1874 to 1967, every Arkansas governor was a member of the Democratic Party.

Continue reading “All That Is Arkansas”
%d bloggers like this: